Senegal eliminate Liberia from 2020 CHAN qualifiers

Senegal defeated Liberia 3-0 in a second leg 2020 African Nations Championship (CHAN) qualifier at the Léopold Sédar Senghor Stadium in Dakar on Saturday.

Liberia came under waves of attack and were certainly lucky to not have conceded in the first half.

It was a period of scaring moments in which goalkeeper Prince Wlame and his defensive quartet of Nuwo Johnson, Daniel Woto, Kemoh Kamara and captain Alvin Maccornel either gave away poor passes or allowed too many crossed balls in front of goal.

And the period of luck came to an end when Jean Louis Barthelemy Diouf found the curtain raiser in the 49th minute.

Midfielder Diouf, who plays for Génération Foot, received a cut back pass from Youssouph Mamadou Badji inside the 18-yard box to slot home the opener unmarked although television replay showed it took a slight deflection off the leg of Maccornel.

The players appeared to have lost concentration in the build-up to the goal.

They were first reduced to 10 men when Christopher Jackson was stretchered-off and then right back Johnson lost his nearest marker Badji while protesting for a throw-in advantage with assistant referee #2 Delgado Fernandes Wilson Jorge.

With the score 1-1 on aggregate, the hosts continued their dominance, agility and pace in search of more goals.

And it paid-off in the 78th minute when Ousseynou Niang doubled their advantage inside the 18-yard box, having received a square pass few yards away from the center circle.

Senegal sealed their qualification when second half substitute Abdoulaye Ba converted an 81 minute easy set-piece in which Wlame failed to collect.

The Teranga Lions will meet the Syli nationale of Guinea in September and October for a place in next year’s finals in Cameroon.


Liberia: 16-Prince Wlame, 17-Nuwo Johnson (11-Isaac Pupo 56’), 12-Daniel Woto, 4-Alvin Maccornel (captain), 15-Kemoh Kamara, 18-Ebenezer Solo (3-Marvin Blapoh 45’), 6-Armah Vaikainah, 22-Edward Ledlum, 7-Sam Jackson, 8-Abdulai Yaya Bility, 10-Christopher Jackson (19-Terry Sackor 51’)

Unused substitutes: 1-Tommy Songo, 13-Farsedu Logan, 20-Varney Dukuly and 5-Prince Jetoh.

Senegal: 1-Pape Seydou Ndiaye, 18-El Hadji Moutarou Balde, 4-Djibril Thialaw Diop, 5-Youssou Diagne, 12-Khadim Diaw, 17-Jean Louis Barth Diouf, 22-Ousseynou Niang, 6-Dion Lopy, 2-El Hadji Madicke Kane, 14-Djibril Gueye, 9-Youssouph Mamadou Badji

Substitutes: 16-Pape Abdoulaye Dieng, 3-Mouhamed El Bachir Ngom, 15-Alassane Ndao, 19-Mamadou Lamine Danfa, 8-Abdoulaye Fall, 10-Abdoulaye Ba, 20-Benoint Toupane

Officials: match commissioner Gregorio Badoupa (Guinea Bissau), referee Fabricio Duarte, first assistant Jorge Santos Fonseca Aritson, second assistant referee Delgado Fernandes Wilson Jorge, fourth official Antonio Manuel F. Tony Rodrigues (all from Cape Verde)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

Simply football news!

There is football and there is the HEAVY DETAILED NEWS on the Sport where we give the news ,reviews ,analysis, statistics and live coverage of all the soccer events in Africa. We are Africa’s number one online soccer community created by true fans.

Copyright © 2018 All rights reserverd.

To Top
WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :